If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
BB

2009 Applicant - Profile Eval and GMAT needs please?

by BB Sat Mar 22, 2008 5:06 pm

I plan on applying this fall for 2009. I'm currently studying for the GMAT (with MGMAT's help) this Summer and am wondering what score range I need to have a realistic shot at my target schools.

Profile (as of today - experience and age will be +1yr when entering school)
Age 25
Undergrad - Double Major - Marketing and Economics from Oklahoma
GPA - 3.75 (4.0 for the last 5 semesters)
Major GPAs - 4.0
Awarded Outstanding Senior in Marketing and Supply Chain
Leadership Role in Business Club
Leadership Panel for State Blood Bank

Experience
- 2 yrs in sales at General Mills with a promotion after 1 year
- 1 yrs as Assocaite Marketing Manager with smaller CPG company ($1b)

Mentor for Big Brother Big Sister
Active in Community Growth Organization
Very good interviewer

I want to continue a career in CPG Brand Management at a top 5 CPG company with a progression towards top level management. To do this, I'll need an MBA from a top school. I'm targeting schools specifically strong in Marketing as well as General Management. My top schools are Kellogg, Wharton, HBS; followed by Chicago, CBS, Tuck, Duke with Indiana as a back-up due to strong CPG brand management program. I'm target a 700+ GMAT but I'm wondering if I need a VERY high GMAT score for the top schools or am I competitive enough without needing a 750+. So basically, what GMAT scores do I need to have a good chance at the above schools?

Thanks!
BB

by BB Sat Mar 22, 2008 5:10 pm

For the experience, General Mills was first and I am currently in the Marketing role at the smaller company and will have 2 years of experience at the time of enrollment.
MBAApply

by MBAApply Sat Mar 22, 2008 6:15 pm