The smoke has cleared, the test has come and gone. Feel free to share your experiences with your peers.
jigar24
Forum Guests

540 to 700, it's possible! (study strategy)

by jigar24 Tue Feb 04, 2014 12:27 pm

Hi,

As the subject line suggests I got a 700 (M49 V36) on my recent GMAT exam. My previous score was 540. I studied for nearly 6-8 weeks (3 hours a day on weekdays and 6-7 hours a day on weekends). I also took good 15 days break from work prior to my GMAT.

My study strategy:

1) Went through all strategy guides of Manhattan G. Particularly, I must have gone through the sentence correction guide several times, I know a lot of the content by heart now :). ManG strategy guides lay a good foundation, especially for those who are working and have been out of touch with these concepts.

2) Skimmed through Kaplan GMAT Premier 2014 strategy sections. Did not find them so useful as my mind was attuned to ManG's strategy guide. Also, they are not as detailed as ManG strategy guide (in all fairness, can't expect one book to match up to 8 separate guides)

3) I am from India where we have a rigorous Math curriculum in schools. I used some of my school/college methods for certain topics (around 15% of topics).

4) Solved each and every problem of Kaplan 2014 Premier book (both math and verbal sections)

5) Solved ManG question banks along with examples and practice problems in each chapter in the strategy guides (more focus on Math)

6) Solved Math and Verbal Review (2nd editions) almost entirely. Solved half of OG 13th edition. Left out first few hundred sums. But I recommend that you solve each and every problem in all official guides for both sections.

7) Took 12 mock tests:

3 full length ManG tests
4 Kaplan tests
1 combination of Kaplan (Verbal) & ManG (Math)
4 GMAT prep tests (2 free + 2 paid)