Study and Strategy questions relating to the GMAT.
GMATBLACKBELT

640 Q47 V31... 640 Again Q44 V35

by GMATBLACKBELT Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:42 pm

Hi, I just got back from my test today and am very disappointed. I studied very hard for the first test and got slapped w/ a 640. My verbal was very low. This isn't normal for me since I usually do very well on the verbal.

This time around I felt more confident. Especially in my Quantitative abilities. I was sure I got a 48+. Verbal, I'm not really sure what happened there either.

I just don't get it, all my practice tests say I deserve a much higher score than a 640... Although, I have to admit this has been my most popular test score b/f I finally broke it way back a few months ago. GMATPreps first time were 640 (lol this score just loves me) and 710. Retakes were 720 and 740. I whiz through the OG now. For V I don't even bother looking at it anymore b/c I already know the answer b/f I get to the choices. So i had to use materials from different companies.

I just can't shake this score and I know my abilities are much better than a 640. My target schools all demand scores around the 700 mark so I don't think my 640 will cut it. My GPA is great, but GMAT will def. mask that.

I have exhausted all OG material, GMATPreps, all 6 MGMAT tests, all the QBanks, all MGMAT books. Nothing left there, so I have to turn to other sources.

What advice can you give me at this point? I feel lost. Cheated from my true GMAT abilities. I want to go to my target schools. I just don't know how to attack the GMAT from here.

Sorry for long post, im just really down right now.
StaceyKoprince
ManhattanGMAT Staff

by StaceyKoprince Tue Nov 06, 2007 11:38 am

Write down everything you remember about the test - good and bad, in detail. Share any of it that you want here so we can start to diagnose what went wrong.