The smoke has cleared, the test has come and gone. Feel free to share your experiences with your peers.
lorrainesyma
Forum Guests

640 to 720 GMAT

by lorrainesyma Thu Feb 27, 2014 4:00 am

I started studying for the GMAT early November of 2013. I only used the official GMAC book and I did all four of the official practice tests. For the math section, I wasn't doing well in terms of timing. Often I would have to rush through the last ten or so questions, which really affected my score. The math itself wasn't so much difficult as it was tedious "” I wasn't really sure about tactics or strategies. My verbal was OK, and I averaged around a 80%.

I took a test mid December, and I didn't do well. I got a 640(Q46, V33). I did rather poorly in the verbal section because I got so tired toward the end of the test and didn't pace myself, so I ran out of time, which never happened to me with the verbal section before.

After Christmas, I started studying again. This time, I used a set of Veritas Prep books that my brother had left behind. Those books really helped me in terms of learning strategies and refreshing concepts, both for the quant and the verbal sections. I felt like I had a better understanding of all the material. I also started to keep an error log of questions I got wrong. I bought the MGMAT practice tests and practiced with those. In the beginning, I wasn't doing very well in terms of timing. The MGMAT Quant section is more challenging than the GMAC tests, but ultimately that really helped me as I fought through the hard questions and got used to pacing myself with questions of that level. I was averaging a 70 "” 75% on the MGMAT quant section, and was getting a 92"” 94% on the verbal. I felt pretty confident going into my next exam, scheduled for mid February. I felt that if I was careful and paced myself, I would be in the 700 range. I spent the day before the exam reviewing my error log.