If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
PatrickA750
Course Students

710 to 700- take a third time?

by PatrickA750 Thu Oct 20, 2016 12:20 am

Hi All,
Feeling pretty disappointed, and was hoping for some advice here. Just as some background I have been studing for the GMAT since August 2015. I know studying over this long of a time period isn't the best, but I work in consulting and have developed a pretty good reputation as a "go-to" for my superiors; consequently, I work ~80-90 hours a week so my studying was confined to the weekends only. A little longer than a month ago I took the GMAT for the first time and scored a 710 (Q 44; V42). I was't entirely happy after receiving this score so I scheduled a retake and communicated to my superiors that I needed a little more free time to study, which they tried to oblige with. I made it my effort to study EVERY DAY no matter how late I was at work and took off four days from work preceding the date of the exam to prepare. The result of this second GMAT was 700 (Quant 47; Verbal 40). The verbal is really bothering me, I've taken 10 practice CAT's and my range for verbal was a 40-44, so I scored towards the bottom of my range on my second test. The highest I have ever scored on quant during these practice tests was a 49, but most fluctuated within the 44-46 range, so the recent 47 is fine with me.