The smoke has cleared, the test has come and gone. Feel free to share your experiences with your peers.
rahulshah2008
Students

...and that Sir is how I got owned by the GMAT

by rahulshah2008 Thu Apr 04, 2013 7:56 pm

So I have been prepping for the GMAT for a good two months - from the end of Jan through 3/27 when I took my GMAT. Over the 6 weeks prior to the test, I would say my intensity was a good 7-8 on a scale from 1-10 (10 being the highest). When I took the first GMATprep test I was surprised to see that my verbal score was higher than the quant and I overall I did a 650. I was rather happy about it as my target score is approx 720 and I got the 650 without any practice from any source other than doing the 90 or so problems that come with the prep software and ensuring test conditions.

So I order the MGMAT set of books, the OG13 and the additional guides. Interestingly as I studied more, the practice CATs kept getting lower. Sounds weird right? Its not really because the more I studied the smarter I got and the more I started dwelling on problems and this led to a timing issue. I knew I had to work on my timing and the only way to do this was by taking more tests. I needed more practice and so I ordered the Kaplan Premier to get access to the Kaplan tests.

The following is my CAT history

Source Date Test Number Overall Score
MGMAT 10/28/12 1 580
GMAT PREP 2/4/13 2 650
MGMAT 2/17/13 3 550
MGMAT 2/21/13 4 540
Kaplan CD 5 570
Kaplan CD 6 540
Kaplan CD 7 570
Kaplan CD 8 590
MGMAT 3/8/13 9 610
MGMAT 3/11/13 10 650
MGMAT 3/12/13 11 590
GMAT PREP 3/13/13 12 670
GMAT PREP 3/14/13 13 650
Kaplan Premier 3/19/12 14 690
Kaplan Premier 3/20/13 15 660
Kaplan Premier 3/21/13 16 680
Kaplan Premier 3/25/13 17 690
MGMAT 3/25/13 18 710
Kaplan Premier 3/26/13 19 680