Study and Strategy questions relating to the GMAT.
JorgeA668
Students

Big discrepancy between simulation and real exam

by JorgeA668 Fri Oct 13, 2017 11:01 am

I am writing to you for a consultation and to ask you for an advice. I feel extremely discouraged and frustrated. I don't know where my problem lies and even more how to fix it.
I am at a very difficult moment because I don't understand why I have such big discrepancy between my simulation and real exam.
Basically, all my real exams show no improvement at all.

Two weeks ago, I took my GMAT exam again. This was my fourth attempt.
I scored 390 in total, (Q 30score, 10 percentile; V 15 score, 19 percentile).

Before that I took the exam on August 2017 with a score 380,
prior on May 2017 with a score 410
and November 2016 with a score 380.

Before my last exam I studied 1,5 month over 8h a day. I purchased Manhattan Prep Exams and also other provider exams. I have done all exams under similar conditions as the real exam and I scored in chronological order:
CAT 1 560 Quant 35/29% Verbal 32/67%
CAT 2 570 Quant 38/38% Verbal 30/60%
CAT 3 610 Quant 41/45% Verbal 33/69%
CAT 4 530 Quant 31/21% Verbal 32/67%
CAT 5 530 Quant 37/36% Verbal 26/44%
Other 550 Quant 39/39% Verbal 27/47%
Other 540 Quant 39/39% Verbal 26/44%
Other 560 Quant 39/39% Verbal 29/57%
Other 540 Quant 35/29% Verbal 30/60%
Other 620 Quant 45/59% Verbal 31/62%
Other 590 Quant 38/38% Verbal 34/72%
Other 540 Quant 39/39% Verbal 26/44%

I need a score of 600.
The last attempt left me extremely discouraged as I did not understand why I got such a low score.
It is almost impossible after I have taken individual math classes, two verbal courses, taken 12 trial tests with good results and studied this number of hours. I knew I improved a lot and I felt ready.

I also read that trial tests are usually more difficult than real test, so why is my real score so low?