If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
FSUGradIB

Candidate Proile

by FSUGradIB Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:55 am

Alex,

I am a Florida State graduate, where I maintained an esteemed 2.8 GPA. I currently work as an analyst at a boutique investment bank. With a bad GPA from a very subpar school, I was hoping that you could provide me with some guidance as to what chances I have at top 10-25 schools.

1) What GMAT score do I need to have a chance at a 10-25 school?
2) If I score 700-720 on the GMAT, what is the best possible school
that I will have a shot at getting in to?
3) If I were to work for a larger bank (may switch in the next 6
months) will that improve my chances?
4) I am planning to apply to B-school with 3-4 years of experience.
Do you think that the timing is right or should I wait longer/shorter?

Thank you for all of your help.
MBAApply

by MBAApply Thu Feb 28, 2008 2:32 pm

To answer your questions:

(1) To balance out your low GPA, you realistically need at least a 700 or greater to stand a real chance at a top school. Otherwise it's a lottery ticket.

(2) As for which schools, it really depends. Schools below the top 16 (i.e. Georgetown, Texas, UNC, etc.) you should be competitive for assuming your application is well executed.