Study and Strategy questions relating to the GMAT.
AndrewE142
Course Students

Extended Time Accommodations with ADHD Advice

by AndrewE142 Sun Dec 16, 2018 4:45 pm

Hi, so I've been studying for the GMAT for a few months now, planning on taking in May. I figured now was the right time to start thinking about testing accommodations. I have ADHD, which makes my processing speed super slow, especially for math. I have received 50% extended time for my SAT, my LSAT, and have used them for every exam at my university. Needless to say, without accommodations, I wouldn't even come close to finishing exams.

That being said, I read it's difficult to get extended time for the GMAT with ADHD. The last time I took an evaluation was roughly 4 years ago, and I'm also a little concerned that it is too old. Can anybody give me some advice on applying for an extended time to ensure I receive them? If anybody knows of a consultant I could hire to give me advice on the topic or go over my accommodations essay, that would be helpful as well. Thanks!
StaceyKoprince
ManhattanGMAT Staff

Re: Extended Time Accommodations with ADHD Advice

by StaceyKoprince Thu Dec 20, 2018 5:55 pm

Hello! If you have been able to gain accommodations for other exams, then you have a chance to be able to do the same for the GMAT. (It isn't the case that it's harder to gain accommodations for the GMAT than for, say, the LSAT.) I can't guarantee anything of course—but that's good news.

It is the case that they ask for documentation from the previous 3 years unless the issue is something permanent (such as blindness), since many conditions can change over time. So if it has been 4 years, you may have to repeat the tests / redo the documentation.

I wrote a (long!) blog series on this about 5 years ago—here's the link:
https://www.manhattanprep.com/gmat/blog ... at-part-1/