The smoke has cleared, the test has come and gone. Feel free to share your experiences with your peers.
one85
Forum Guests

From 520 to 650 in 6 weeks

by one85 Wed Aug 21, 2013 4:39 pm

Hi everyone,
I just want to share my experience with the GMAT. Today I took the test (2nd attempt) and I got a 650. I´m so happy because my overall improvement was tremendous and, in my case, I´m not obsessed with breaking the 700 barrier, and I´m not thinking to apply to TOP business school.

My journey started the 2nd week of june, time in which I programmed the exam for July 2, so I just had 3 weeks to study. In this time, I did the whole official verbal review, practice questions from the Gprep software and the princeton review (cracking the gmat). I studied like for 4-5 hours per day, and parallel I took the tests from the GMAT prep software. In those ocassions I scored 570 and 590.

When the day of the real test came out, I got just a 520. I was so dissapointed, but inmediately I knew that I had to retake.
I took a week off for party, and then scheduled the test again for August 21.

I started to study seriously the second week of July, doing sessions of 3 hours per day the first two weeks. And then, I increased the amount of time to 8 hours per day.
I knew that I had to change my strategy, so inmediately changed the study materiales. In this opportunity, I did:

-The whole Official Guide 13 th edition
-GMAT Optimus 800 (an unknown book with lots of mistakes but some good advices).
-Gmat prep software (just erased my old scores)
-Kaplan 800
-Mcgraw Hill GMAT (not useful at all)