Study and Strategy questions relating to the GMAT.
Mufasa
Course Students

GMAT First Attempt & Retake Strategy

by Mufasa Mon Sep 28, 2020 2:00 pm

Hi MPrep Community Experts,

I am an MPrep student and would greatly appreciate your advice and insights given my situation described below. I am looking to quickly recover from my first GMAT attempt, re-build a revision plan focused on improving verbal whilst maintaining quant performance, and get on track towards my target score.

GMAT Preparation:
  • Started formally preparing for the GMAT in June 2020

• Enrolled in Manhattan Prep GMAT online course from June to August

• Studied every week using MPrep Quant and Verbal review books and practicing from OG problems

• Revised every day and built an error log. Typically for every 30 min spent doing problems, I spend 1h reviewing them

Practice CAT record (Month, Source, Score & Sub-score):
1. June, MPrep, 620 (Q43, V32)
2. July, MPrep, 630 (Q44, V32)
3. August, MPrep, 630 (Q44, V32)
4. September, Official GMAT Practice, 730 (Q49, V40)
5. September, MPrep, 670 (Q44, V37)

GMAT performance & goals:
  • First GMAT attempt last week: 630 (Q47, V30)

• Target score: 730 (Realistic: 700 in 2nd retake, would retake a 3rd time for 730)

• Target re-take date: Late October 2020

I was surprised (and disappointed) at such a low Verbal score (V30), as I did not get the impression that the exam questions were at all easier than those I took on my latest practice tests. Moreover, the score is significantly lower than the scores on the practice CATs I took before the test and my perceived ability level when doing OG problems. During the test, I did not feel like a sub-section went particularly bad, and despite timing was not optimal (had to speed up as I got caught on one long RC Bio passage), I still managed to finish the section without bailing over 2 questions at the end (approx. 7 in total for the section).