Study and Strategy questions relating to the GMAT.
AkshayM751
Course Students

GMAT Performance Evaluation for a retest

by AkshayM751 Fri Sep 11, 2020 5:57 am

Hello.

I was a student in the ManhattanPrep Bootcamp way back in Feb/March 2020. Due to the pandemic and subsequent lockdown in my city, there were problems in the test delivery. However I was finally able to give my GMAT test on 10th September. I scored a 710 (Q50 and V35). Although I have been told it is a decent score but I can't help but feel that I could have done better. In my GMATPrep tests, I was scoring between Verbal 38-42 and Quant 49-50. I am happy with the score in quant but the verbal part is disappointing for me. I'm planning for a retest because I think I can do better in the verbal part of the test. I did the MGMAT CAT tests, OG materials and the GMATPrep tests. I'm not really sure what exactly went wrong in the verbal part. I'm pasting the ESR for the verbal part below. While I understand that I need to be doing better in the CR and SC portions but I was wondering if there might something else that I might be missing. I'd be grateful if an instructor could please help me understand the areas where I might be going wrong and how I could improve them.

- Akshay

Verbal ESR -
• Your Verbal score of 35 is higher than 76% of GMAT Exam scores recorded in the past three years. The mean score
for this section is 27.11.
• Your performance on Critical Reasoning questions was equivalent to a score of 35, which is better than 70% of GMAT
Exam scores recorded in the past three years. The mean score for this sub-section is 27.59.
◦ Your performance of 75% on Analysis/Critique questions is considered Above Average.
◦ Your performance of 50% on Construction/Plan questions is considered Weak.
• Your performance on Reading Comprehension questions was equivalent to a score of 37, which is better than 78% of
GMAT Exam scores recorded in the past three years. The mean score for this sub-section is 27.17.