Study and Strategy questions relating to the GMAT.
YoungY508
Students

HELP! Running on FUMES!

by YoungY508 Mon Aug 14, 2017 9:32 pm

I studied for the GRE for 4 months, took the official test 3 times (practice tests 4 times), and switched to GMAT where I studied for 3 months and took the exam twice; and now, I've decided to go back to the GRE. My score was higher on my last GRE and my GMAT score was horrendous. I would need a minimum of 100 more points on my GMAT to be in my goal range. Plus, I enjoy studying for the vocab and solving geometry problems; I dislike number reasoning, data sufficiency, and grammar questions.

I've never quit anything in my life, but I'm really running on fumes. What would you recommend on how I should study for my switch back to GRE studying? Any recommendation on hours/quality of study? Previously, I studied at least 2 hours per weekday and 6-8 hours per weekend with a practice test done bi-monthly. I had an error log that I revisited at least twice. Is there such thing as "hitting the ceiling" or point of diminishing returns? Have you met/tutored anyone similar to my case? If so, how did you help that student, or how did that student help him- or herself? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

-Lifelong learner who wants to change the world.
StaceyKoprince
ManhattanGMAT Staff

Re: HELP! Running on FUMES!

by StaceyKoprince Tue Aug 15, 2017 4:50 pm

Hi! Love your tagline. :) And thanks for coming to the GMAT vs. GRE workshop last night.

Okay, it sounds like you feel comfortable with your decision to move back to the GRE—yes? Or is that something we still need to discuss / debate?

First, if you feel like you are running on fumes, you may just literally need to give yourself a break. You can safely break for up to about 3 to 4 weeks without losing much of your knowledge / momentum. (And you can break longer than that, but you'll then just need to plan in some extra time to get yourself back up to current speed.)