mba

If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
mba-app

mba

by mba-app Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:48 am

I am a computer science engineer and I am working for my dad's firm. I graduated in 2007 with a GPA of 3.2. I have got 610/5 in gmat. I am very good at maths so I am considering a career in finance. However, I am not interested in banking jobs. Are there still some options left for me for finance job in other sector like consumer products or entertainment ? I am also confused about the 2 b-schools- Ivey or toronto. Also, would my work experience from my dad's firm be a downside to my application?
MBA Mission

Re: mba

by MBA Mission Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:50 am

Thank you for your inquiry.

Finance is certainly not restricted to Investment banking in the traditional sense - Corporate Finance and M&A advisory work. You could pursue a job in Sales, Trading, Investment Management, Research, Securitization, etc. Further, you could work for a firm in their Finance department and this would enable you to fuse your passion for finance and consumer products or entertainment.

The fact that you are working with your father is not a detriment. The question the AdCom asks of every candidate is: "What did he/she achieve?" If you can prove that you have had your impact, you can bring valuable experience to your MBA classroom. In the next few years, a lot of family businesses will change hands and business schools will want that perspective, provided that it is profound.