Study and Strategy questions relating to the GMAT.

Please advise preparation strategy for my 4th attempt.

by Guest Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:59 am

It was my third attempt at the GMAT, and got 500 (V-20, Q-40). First attempt 540 (V-21, Q-43) and second attempt 430 (V-18, Q-35). My story is all about my verbal scores. My first attempt was in December 2006 when i got 540. I had taken Princeton Review course before my first attempt. I was so rusted in Quant, and PR helped a lot in polishing my Quant.

After my first attempt i studied off and on over the next year of 2007 and went for my second attempt in December 2007. For this second attempt i prepared from OG-11, Official Verbal and Quant Review books, old PDF tests by GMACWall-Street-Crash , Manhattan SC, CR Bible by PowerScore (fantastic book for CR), SC Bible and notes/feedbacks available on net (the flash cards by beathegmat are excellent and reinforced my understanding of the topics). I also made notes for both verbal and Quant from all the best books available in the market on GMAT (PR, Kaplan all books, Barrens, Arco and NOVA). After going through all that material, I took GMAT Prep and got 36, 35 and 36 in verbal. I was satisfied that i had improved because when i first time took GMATPrep (a year back) my verbal scores were 28, 30, 33. I went for the actual GMAT in December 2007 for my second attempt and got 18 in verbal . I was shocked that after going through such an extensive material my verbal score went down from 21 to 18. I thought there must be something seriously wrong with me and i am not retaining what i go through. But the thing was that i never got 18 in verbal even when i took GMATPrep first time in December 2006 before my first attempt. As I mentioned above, at that time my practice verbal scores were 28, 30, 33.