If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
ShannonW367
Students

Please evaluate my profile

by ShannonW367 Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:54 am

Hi, I would appreciate if you can evaluate my profile and offer some advice on how I can improve my chances of being admitted by one of the top MBA schools.

I m a 27 years old Chinese female working in Hong Kong. I m working as a senior associate in the equity capital markets department in a boutique investment bank. I have almost three years of experience in investment banking, in which two of those years I was working as a corporate finance analyst involved mainly in executions of initial public offerings deals. After staying two years in that firm, and having experienced burnouts from pulling many all-nighters, I switched to a new field in investment banking, with less long hours and more client facing opportunities. I have also been given a better title as well as pay in the current job.

My background is a bit unusual. My major was psychology for my Bachelor degree in a non-Ivy-league US state school. My GPA was good though, scoring 3.85. My first job was an institutional sales in a European research house, servicing mainly buyside investors. Through networking, I met my second employee who hired me as an analyst in their corporate finance department and trained me from ground up.

I have not taken GMAT yet - understood I might need to get at least 700 to be eligible to apply for top school given my weaker academic qualifications. I m working towards getting minimum 750. Hopefully I can do it.

My spoken English is fluent, as well as my native Cantonese and Mandarin. However, having attempted several GMAT verbal questions, I found that I still need more work to blush up my English, especially grammar.

My Quant is okay so far, getting on average 80/100 from the practice tests/ exercises.