Study and Strategy questions relating to the GMAT.
ii

Poor performance in Practice CATS

by ii Sun Mar 30, 2008 8:26 am

Hi All,

I have been preparing for the GMAT for about 2 months now. And thought I was making good progress till I took my first FULL practice tests (AWA, Quant, Verbal all in one 3.5hour sitting)

For example ... in my Quant preparation ... I have completed the OG Quant (Green) book ... and was scoring around 80% hit rate for PS questions and 77% hit rate for DS questions.
Also, before taking the FULL practice tests ... I attempted just 1 section in isolation: For example, I completed ONLY the Quant section of MGMAT CAT. I scored Q43(70%).
Even before this, the first practice test I took (4 weeks ago) was untimed. I completed ONLY the Quant and Verbal sections. Didnt do AWA. I scored 560(57%) - Q34(41%) V33(69%)

In the FULL practice tests (where I completed ALL sections (AWA, Q, V) in one 3.5hour sitting) which I have just completed over the past week, I scored as follows:
1) GMATPrep: I scored 520(45%) - Q32(37%); V29(56%)
2) MGMAT: I scored 500(38%) - Q28(24%); V31(62%)

Of course ... this is a very disappointing performance, especially as I thought my preparations was going well ! My assumption is that this is due to the timing ... I feel that I am rushing to get to the answers and subsequently making careless mistakes.

I have just recently purchased the MGMAT Guided Self Study Plus package ... and intend to go through all the class recordings and materials to pick up new techniques and practice drills.

My target score is 700 ... and my test date is 29 April. Is this going to be possible, in the given timeframe ?
Any ideas/thoughts/feedback would be much appreciated.

Thanks.
StaceyKoprince
ManhattanGMAT Staff

by StaceyKoprince Mon Mar 31, 2008 2:19 pm