If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
JosephD232
Course Students

Profile Evaluation

by JosephD232 Thu Mar 19, 2015 4:04 pm

General: I’m a 26 year old white male. I was looking for an assessment on my chances of getting into a top 10 MBA program.

Education: I graduated with a degree in corporate finance and accounting from a top 20 business school GPA 3.6/4.0. I have a CPA and I’m a level 2 CFA candidate.
Work Experience (four years):
• Big 4 (mixed work experience) – One of three associates selected for a management leadership program intended to introduce potential future leaders to various cross-functions of the firm. I essentially participated in a two year rotational program across various service lines.
•Currently, I have a new job in transaction services specializing in implementation of derivative and hedging strategies. I was promoted in my position within the first six months of my start date.

GMAT: I plan on taking the GMAT in August. A month ago, I took a practice test to assess my baseline and scored a 680. I’m hoping to boost my score to the 720 mark. I signed up for a Mgmat prep course and plan on putting in a solid 500 hours of study time.

Extra-Curricular Activities: Former aid of a state rep and campaign volunteer. Volunteer for Cradles to Crayons – nonprofit that helps low income families.
mbamissionjenK
ManhattanGMAT Staff

Re: Profile Evaluation

by mbamissionjenK Fri Mar 20, 2015 6:55 pm

Hi there,

Thanks for posting. Sounds like you have the start of a strong profile.... GPA is solid; you have the CPA and CFA demonstrating your quant skills; some progression & recognition at work; some volunteering.