If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
valadienb414
Forum Guests

Profile Evaluation

by valadienb414 Wed Apr 24, 2019 1:06 am

General: I’m a 28 year old white male. I was looking for an assessment on my chances of getting into a top 10 MBA program.

Education: I graduated with a degree in corporate finance and accounting from a top 20 business school GPA 3.6/4.0. I have a CPA and I’m a level 2 CFA candidate.
Work Experience (four years):
• Big 4 (mixed work experience) – One of three associates selected for a management leadership program intended to introduce potential future leaders to various cross-functions of the firm. I essentially participated in a two year rotational program across various service lines.
•Currently, I have a new job in transaction services specializing in implementation of derivative and hedging strategies. I was promoted in my position within the first six months of my start date.
mbaMissionMichael
ManhattanGMAT Staff

Re: Profile Evaluation

by mbaMissionMichael Wed Apr 24, 2019 11:38 pm

Hi, thanks for your post!
The application process is truly holistic, and committees will look at your stats (GPA and GMAT/GRE), work experience, and extracurriculars.

Your GPA is strong, so that is a good start. The fact you are a CPA and a Level II CFA also shows your quantitative ability, so if you happen to not do as well on your GMAT/GRE, you should still be able to show you have the ability to succeed in the classroom. Your test score is still important though, and I suggest taking it up to 3-4 times. You have nothing to lose since schools will only look at your highest score. And even a slight increase can boost your profile.