Verbal question you found somewhere else? General issue with idioms or grammar? Random verbal question? These questions belong here.
FotisK758
Students

Question regarding a MGMAT Critical Reasoning definition.

by FotisK758 Wed Jan 24, 2018 6:52 am

Greetings from Greece,

I am studying in accordance with your CR Guide , but I feel that I cannot understand a definition and I am a bit confused.

There are some examples where the Manhattan Team uses the word claim showing that it is somehow another way of finding a conclusion whereas in other examples they connect it with the context of the premises.

Personally I stick to the idea that claim is close to the opinion idea.
Sage Pearce-Higgins
Forum Guests

Re: Question regarding a MGMAT Critical Reasoning definition.

by Sage Pearce-Higgins Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:47 pm

The Isles of Greece! The Isles of Greece! Where burning Sappho loved and sung...

Apologies if our guide isn't clear. Be careful what a conclusion is: it's the main claim of the argument, such as an opinion or prediction i.e. something that somebody could disagree with. For example, if I say "The capital of Greece is Athens." then I don't need to provide support for that, because it's a fact. And even if you could have a disagreement about it with an odd person, then it would be a silly argument and GMAT wouldn't do that. However, if I say "I think it will rain tomorrow." then you could ask me for my evidence and we could have a sensible disagreement about it. "I think it will rain tomorrow." is clearly a claim.