If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
explorer31
Course Students

Should I retake GMAT(650) for part time programs at Booth

by explorer31 Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:45 pm

Hello:

I am interested in applying to only the part times programs at Chicago Booth and Berkeley-Haas (still evaluating the program and hence tentative). I wrote GMAT twice and scores are as below:

1. 1st attempt 600 (Q45,V29),IR5.0
2. 2nd attempt 650 (Q42,V39), IR 3.0

I finished my masters in 2008 with GPA of 3.5. I have been working since then in various financial services and manage a team of 4 resources. That would be a total of ~8 yrs. My role is heavily focused on using quant based techniques combined with data analytics to create risk strategies (within consumer card industry).

I was all set to focus on my applications after my second attempt which was on May 30th. However, when I started reaching out to admissions consulting companies I have been getting mixed reviews on my gmat score asking to retake and aim for 700 score. I am pretty confused as I think for part time programs 650 is well within the range for Booth evening & weekend programs. Please let me know what would be the best way to proceed from here. I have pretty much exhausted all my prep material and mock tests twice at this point. I am not very sure how to improve my score by another 50 pts.

Appreciate everyone's suggestions!
mbaMissionMichael
ManhattanGMAT Staff

Re: Should I retake GMAT(650) for part time programs at Booth

by mbaMissionMichael Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:57 pm

Hi, that is a good question.