Questions about the world of GMAT Math from other sources and general math related questions.
MdAbuAsad
Course Students

Statements NEVER contradict each other in DS !

by MdAbuAsad Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:04 pm

Source: Self-made (Modified question)

if x and p are positive integers, is xp divisible by 3?
(1) x=69
(2) x=96

Hi Ron, i got a hint from Manhattan GMAT books about the fact that "the two statements NEVER contradict each other''. If i try to make the solution, then i got the correct answer D. But, here the two statements totally contradict each other. So, my question is: is the question stem with two statements legitimate? . If it is not the legitimate question, could you explain details, please?
Thanks....

N.B.: Ron, i'm totally newcomer in Quant part- i've no knowledge in mathematics. So, if i make any mistake by modifying this question then i'm sorry.
“The heights by great men reached and kept were not attained in sudden flight but, they while their companions slept, they were toiling upwards in the night.”
― Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
RonPurewal
Students

Re: Statements NEVER contradict each other in DS !

by RonPurewal Tue Mar 22, 2016 2:16 pm

statement 1 and statement 2 won't contradict each other.
the point is that it will ALWAYS be POSSIBLE to combine the statements -- even if you don't have to.
obviously we can't combine the statements x = 69 and x = 96, so... yeah, this "problem" doesn't have an acceptable format.
RonPurewal
Students

by RonPurewal Tue Mar 22, 2016 2:17 pm

more importantly, though -- there's no reason for you to worry about this, since there's no way it can give you an actual advantage on the test.
all of the problems WILL have this format -- with 2 statements that are consistent with each other -- so, there's nothing here that you can use to actually help you eliminate, narrow, or solve anything.