If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
Last_time_applying

What to look for in Admissions Consultant

by Last_time_applying Wed Oct 17, 2007 2:24 am

I have a pretty unique background when compared to most MBA applicants. I graduated w/ a film degree and worked in the film industry. I'm now a rep for a high performance brake manufacturer. I'm not an analyst or consultant for a big firm or a big bank. This is probably a strong point, but I'm not sure how to leverage it.

I applied two years ago with undesirable results and since then improved my GMAT by 50 points to 670, and attended financial accounting and economics classes at a community college. My first choice would be the Marshall program @ USC although I do have some alternates. I prefer no other program as much as I prefer Marshall. Therefore I'd like to work with a consultant to create the best application possible.

What should I be looking for in a consultant? I'm going for the Jan 15th Round 2 deadline, which makes me feel time is of the essence, I'd like to do round 1 if possible. I want someone who can honestly tell me which programs I have a decent chance of being accepted to.

Everything from each school's admissions dept feels like they are trying to garner as many applications as possible when in reality I had no business applying to those schools. I'm a much better candidate now and chances have greatly increased however this I do not want to re-apply again, and I certainly would like to avoid being rejected again.

Who are some good consultants? Like I said above, what should I be looking for in a MBA admissions consultant? Any referrals? If anyone would like to share their experience in private, please email me, midnightcustom02@hotmail.com

Thank you very much, and I look forward to hearing from everyone.
MBA Mission

Re: What to look for in Admissions Consultant