The smoke has cleared, the test has come and gone. Feel free to share your experiences with your peers.
megatonflare
Course Students

Wrote the GMAT for the 2nd time - Need Help!!

by megatonflare Wed May 22, 2013 12:01 pm

Hi All,

I've written my GMAT for the 2nd time yesterday, and I scored a 510 (Quant 42/69%, and Verbal 19/23%) and felt very disappointed :( . I have been preparing for this exam for the past 5 months now.

In short, I've taken 6 MGMAT, 3 Kaplan and 4 GMAT Prep practice tests and the scores are the following:

MGMAT - hovering between 590-610
Kaplan - hovering between 550-600
GMATPrep - hovering between 550-610

I used the following resources to study:

1) OG 12,OG 13,Quant review and Verbal review.
2) Powerscore 10 bible for CR
3) Manhattan SC, CR, and RC for verbal study
4) All the Manhattan quant books (word problems, number properties, etc.) for quant study
5) Kaplan GMAT 2013

I practice lots of quant questions from a variety of sources, Kaplan, OG, Gmatclub, Manhattan books, etc., and from the first gmat exam i wrote a month ago, the lesson i learned was to take my time and slowdown on the quant section. Doing so has improved my quant significantly, going from 46% to a 69%.

However, quant is not the issue for me, but rather the verbal is.

To prepare for the verbal section, I've done the following:

- Read 2-3 articles on nytimes and economist for a month to increase my reading speed and overall comprehension
- Practiced 90% SC, CR and RC questions in OG13, and tried to learn from my mistakes.
- I was struggling with CR, so I read through the Powerscore CR Bible, and did a deep-dive of the various question types in the GMAT (e.g., specific approach for a 'Weaken the argument' type problem, etc.)
- I thought my SC was relatively good, so i focused less on that as well, but I did go through Manhattan's SC book once, and tried to internalize the patterns, the idioms, comparisons, subject-verb agreements, etc.