If you have any concerns about business school applications, deadlines, etc. mbaMission Admissions Consultants will answer your questions!
netflix.our

(yet another) Profile Evaluation

by netflix.our Fri Jun 20, 2008 12:15 am

This is a wonderful site. Thanks to the admissions consultants here, you guys have given me some extremely useful information.

Here's me:

Grad: PhD in Electrical Engineering from a top-5 US EE program (Univ. of Illinois, Urbana). GPA 3.9

Undergrad: India. GPA: 3.7

Work Ex: Two years (will be three by the time I start school), as a Quantitative Researcher/Trader at a Hedge Fund in New York
I also worked as a Research Assistant for 20 hrs per week all through graduate school. Does that count?
And do internships count? (full time, paid internships for 9 months)

GMAT: 750

Extracurricular (undergrad)
-Won a national debate competition. Captain of debate team.
-Won a national trivia quiz competetion
-Cultural Secretary of my college.

Extracurricular (grad)
-Graduate Mentor: Advised incoming students on coursework and research
Not much else :(, too busy in research.

Extrcurricular (job)
-Mostly voluntary work, in charitable organizations. And as a mentor for poor kids

Why MBA
I need to understand businesses in my work (Fundamental Analysis), not everything can be understood in terms of pure numbers. Nothing like business school for a good grounding in business and finance. Moreover, a lot of the jobs that I would get 'promoted' into require a business degree.

Questions
-Do I have a shot at a top-5 school (HBS, Wharton, GSB, Kellogg, Stanford)? There isn't any point for me to apply anywhere else: in the Hedge Fund industry, brand names count for a lot, and these 5 are well-noted.
-Will I fall into the "Indian Engineer" cliche? How can I position myself uniquely?
-Will the lack of work experience outside of school hurt me? Can I position my work as a Research Assistant in grad school for 5 years as relevant work experience?